Your Location: Select

Your Facebook Account After Death!

2/12/2015 Alan Kyle Goel

More people join social networking sites every day. For some users, online networks serve as the primary means of staying in touch with friends and family. Social networking sites let us post our thoughts, pictures, videos, music and other content. But what happens to all of that when we die?

It's fun to use social networking sites, but where does your data go after death?

Well, Facebook will soon allow you to choose a friend or family member to manage your account after you’re gone.

Facebook’s ‘Legacy Contact’ Feature Explained…

Facebook calls this feature your “legacy contact,” and it will appear in the Settings menu. From there, you can select which one of your Facebook friends will be able to control certain aspects like:

  • Pin a post on your Timeline (for example, to post a memorial service or a special message)
  • Respond to new friend requests
  • Update the profile picture and cover photo

Apart from doing this, the legacy contact can also download an archive of the user’s photos, posts and profile, but only if they are given permission by the original account holder. Alternatively, if users choose to, then they can also opt for Facebook to delete their account once they pass away.

To choose a legacy contact, go to Settings, choose “Security,” and then click on the “Legacy Contact” option from the bottom of the page. After choosing your legacy contact, you will also  

Facebook already has a memorialization system in place which allows other people to let Facebook know when users have passed away. After the verification, which is typically done through an obituary or news article, the account becomes memorialized. Such memorialized accounts are not displayed in friend suggestions, ads, or other “public” places on Facebook.

To pay a tribute to the deceased, Facebook will also add a “Remembering” tag above the user’s name, and the legacy contact will also have the ability to “pin” a post at the top of their Timeline.

Facebook will be first introducing this legacy contact feature in the U.S., and then it will expand to other countries.

Remember, setting up this legacy contact information is optional.

[Curated content based on excerpts from posts, blogs, media articles, and sponsored research]
View Count 2,380